PoliticsIndiaMain News

Election Commission announce poll dates for 5 states: MP, Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram

16.2 crore people across 5 poll-bound states are all set to vote in state elections ahead of Lok Sabha polls of 2024.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) held a highly-anticipated press conference on Monday to unveil the crucial schedule for the upcoming Assembly Elections in five states: Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Mizoram.

In a packed press briefing, the Chief Election Commissioner of India, Rajiv Kumar, alongside his fellow commissioners, addressed the media and the nation. The commission began by emphasizing the significance of these elections and their commitment to conducting free, fair, and transparent polls.

The BJP-ruled Madhya Pradesh will elect legislators from 230 constituencies while the Congress- governed Rajasthan Assembly comprises 200 seats. In Telangana, the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi will face off against BJP and the Congress over 119 Assembly seats. In the 90-seat Chhattisgarh assembly, Congress is all set to fight the BJP while both the parties will attempt to get a foothold in the 40-seat Assembly of Mizoram, currently led by the Mizo National Front.

Election Commission

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said:

“Around 60 lakh first time voters(18-19 Yrs) will participate in elections of 5 states. 15.39 lakh young voters are eligible to participate in elections due to amendment on qualifying dates. To inspire young voters, over 2900 polling stations will be managed by youth,”

You might also be intersted in – Prashant Bhushan says ‘One Nation One Election’ aims to postpone polls in 5 months

Related Articles

Back to top button