Maharashtra candidate pledges whiskey and beer for poor voters

Vanita Raut, an Akhil Bhartiya Manavata Paksha candidate, vows to offer subsidized whiskey and beer to "poor voters" if elected in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, intending to open beer bars in villages

Vanita Raut, a candidate from the Akhil Bhartiya Manavata Paksha contesting the Chandrapur seat in Maharashtra, has made an unusual electoral pledge targeting the “poor voters.” If elected in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, Raut has committed to providing subsidized whiskey and beer. Additionally, she plans to establish beer bars in villages and distribute free imported whiskey and beer to those in need, as per reports from India Today.

While speaking to India Today, she said, “Jahan gaanv, waha beer baar. Yahi mere mudde hain.” According to the report, Raut has pledged to regulate imported alcohol distribution, specifying that both the vendor and the customer must possess licenses.

She further added, “Extremely poor people toil hard and only find solace in drinking liquor. But they cannot afford quality whiskey or beer. They get to drink only country liquor and there is no limit to the quantity they consume, so they pass out. Hence, I want them to experience imported liquor and enjoy it. I want them to enjoy and enjoy only.”

In the 2019 elections, Raut contested from the Nagpur Lok Sabha seat, which was won by BJP’s Nitin Gadkari. In the state Assembly elections, she ran for the Chimur Assembly seat but was defeated by BJP’s Bunty Bhangdiya.

Meanwhile, Maharashtra is gearing up for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, with voting scheduled to take place in five phases for 48 constituencies. On March 31, the BJP core committee in Maharashtra convened a meeting with cluster in-charges to assess the status of all 48 constituencies leading up to the elections.

The ruling alliance in Maharashtra comprises the Shiv Sena, led by Eknath Shinde, the BJP, and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), led by Ajit Pawar. On the other hand, the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) alliance consists of Uddhav Thackeray’s UBT, the NCP (led by Sharad Pawar), and the Congress.

Recently, Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde’s Shiv Sena released its first list of eight candidates. The list includes former Congress MLA Raju Parve, who has been given a ticket from the Ramtek (SC) seat. Among the other candidates are Rahul Shewale from Mumbai South Central, Sanjay Mandlik from Kolhapur, Sadashiv Lokhande from Shirdi (SC), Prataprao Jadhav from Buldhana, Hemant Patil from Hingoli, Srirang Barne from Maval, and Dhairyasheel Mane from the Hatkanangale seat.

Additionally, the NCP (led by Sharad Pawar) has announced its first list of five candidates for the Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra. Supriya Sule has been fielded from Baramati, while Nilesh Lanke, who switched sides from the Ajit Pawar camp, will contest from the Ahmednagar constituency. The Ajit Pawar-led NCP has nominated Sunetra Pawar as their candidate for Baramati, setting up a direct contest with Sule.

You might also be interested in – Ahmednagar to be renamed ‘Ahilyanagar’, other places too renamed by Maharashtra Govt

Related Articles

Back to top button