With the best Olympic Performance of India ever, it is clear that the future of sports in the country is bright

India has won 7 medals in Tokyo 2020 including 1 gold, 2 silver & 4 bronze and even though they seem ‘less’, these are the highest number of medals for the country since 1900.

There was plenty of hope and expectations as India sent its biggest-ever contingent to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Indian athletes who made headlines over the past 5 years and finished at podiums at all world championships were sent keeping in mind that this was the strongest #TeamIndia to date and no wonder why they did not disappoint.

However, the going got tougher for India as shooters, women wrestlers, Table Tennis players, and archers drew a blank despite some of them even holding the current world #1 at world championships held a couple of years back.

India’s medal rush at Tokyo started with weightlifter Mirabai Chanu winning a silver medal. Badminton ace PV Sindhu added a bronze while boxer Lovlina Borgohain too won a bronze medal. Indian men’s hockey team returned to the Olympic podium after a gap of 41 years by winning the bronze medal, while wrestler Ravi Kumar Dahiya won a silver medal. He was joined by wrestler Bajrang Punia, who won a bronze and not to forget the finale by Neeraj Chopra who ended India’s Olympic campaign with the National Anthem in Tokyo and a gold medal in hand.

There were many close calls as well, including the women’s field Hockey team which finished fourth on the table after losing the semis, and Aditi Ashok who almost had it in control but lost at the fourth position due to the not-so-good weather for Golf on day 15.

At last, it was not only a superb performance by the athletes, but it was also the country’s support that backed them continuously as the citizens came out unitedly to support the athletes representing India despite knowing it is not cricket.

Tokyo 2020 medal winners for India:

Gold – Neeraj Chopra (Men’s Javelin Throw)

Silver – Mirabai Chanu (Weightlifting: Women’s 49kg )

Silver – Ravi Kumar Dahiya (Wrestling: Men’s 57kg freestyle)

Bronze – Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing: Women’s Welterweight)

Bronze – PV Sindhu (Badminton: Women’s singles)

Bronze – Men’s Hockey Team

Bronze – Bajrang Punia (Wrestling: Men’s 65kg freestyle)

Related Articles

Back to top button