CM Yogi Adityanath transfers 12 DMs after BJP lists reasons for poor poll performance

In the national elections, the BJP's number of seats in Uttar Pradesh fell to 33, a considerable decrease from the 62 seats it had won in the 2019 elections

In the national elections, the BJP’s number of seats in Uttar Pradesh fell to 33, a considerable decrease from the 62 seats it had won in the 2019 elections. CM Yogi Adityanath moved quickly to replace 12 district magistrates, reported News18, in reaction to the task force’s conclusions, especially those from regions where the Bharatiya Janata Party  had lost the 2024 elections.

A month after the Lok Sabha Elections of 2024, a comprehensive report submitted by the Bharatiya Janata Party’s task force to the Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath which identified internal dissent and lack of cooperation from distinct administrative machinery as major factors over the poor show of the party in the state.

CM Yogi Adityanath
Image Source: Youtube

Sitapur, Banda, Basti, Shrawasti, Kaushambi, Sambhal, Saharanpur, Moradabad, and Hathras are among the districts impacted by these administrative adjustments; Kasganj, Chitrakoot, and Auraiya will also see further reassignments. Except for Hathras, all of these changes represent the BJP’s losses, according to News18.

The research cited many reasons for the BJP’s dismal performance. The unorthodox ticket distribution approach employed by the party was seen as a serious blunder. Voters responded favorably to the Opposition’s “Threat to Constitution” storyline, which further damaged the BJP’s prospects.

“Humein to apno ne loota, gairo mein kahaan dum tha, humari kashti bhi wahan doobi jahan paani kam tha…” News18 quoted a party functionary in the know of the task force’s findings as saying, who added: “BJP’s downfall was less destined and more scripted.”

“A significant factor behind the BJP’s decline was internal dissent, attributed primarily to issues with ticket distribution and dissatisfaction within the Thakur community,” he said further.

Controversial Comments by BJP Candidates

The task force’s conclusions also revealed a lack of contentment on the inside, especially among the Thakur community. Kshatriya groups were incensed by the controversy surrounding Rajya Sabha MP Parshottam Rupala’s comments regarding former royal dynasties siding with the British, in contrast to the Dalit community’s unwavering stance.

In Purvanchal, prominent Thakur personalities like Raja Bhaiya, Dhananjay Singh, and Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh have considerable sway. Their dissatisfaction with the BJP’s procedure for choosing candidates further damaged the party’s reputation. The task group also pointed out the negative effects of Lallu Singh, the BJP candidate, suggesting in a widely shared video that a two-thirds majority is required to draft a new Constitution. The opposition was given ammunition by this comment, and the Congress used it to attack the BJP.

“A government formed with 272 seats cannot amend the Constitution. For that, or even if a new Constitution is to be made, there is a need of over two-thirds majority,” News18 quoted him as saying.

In the recently held Lok Sabha Elections, the BJP won 240 seats and formed the government in alliance with Telegu Desam Party, Janata Dal-United, Shiv Sena, Lok Janshakti Party, Janasena Party and others.

You might also be interested in – Yogi Adityanath announces judicial probe on Hathras stampede, Says “will get to the bottom of it”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button