GovernanceIndiaMain News

Andhra Pradesh gets a new map and 13 new districts from today: Govt aims at decentralised development of all regions

Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy launched the new districts at a virtual ceremony in the morning, following an "auspicious muhurat" time set by Vedic priests.

Andhra Pradesh got a new administrative map on Monday, with the creation of 13 new districts that doubled their number to 26, in a massive overhaul that the state government will ensure decentralised development of all regions by taking governance closer to the people.

As soon as the gazette notification was released the Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSR Congress government also reshuffled IAS and IPS officers, and appointed collectors and Superintendents of Police to the newly-created districts.


Jagan Mohan Reddy said the new districts have been formed in accordance with the public opinion. He claimed that while naming the new districts, the government took into consideration various factors, including sentiments of the local people.

The new districts are Parvathipuram Manyam, Alluri Sitharama Raju, Anakapalli, Kakinada, Kona Seema, Eluru, NTR, Bapatla, Palnadu, Nandyal, Sri Satyasai, Annamayyia Aand Tirupati.

In 2019 elections, YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) has promised to create one district in each of the 25 Lok Sabha constituencies.

He pointed out that since the formation of the state 70 years ago, only two districts were created.


The Chief Minister said Andhra Pradesh with a population of 4.96 crore required new districts. “Till yesterday, we had one district for a population of 38.15 lakh but now with creation of 13 new districts, there is one district for a population of 19.07 lakh,” he said.

Each of the districts is now the same as the parliamentary constituencies except Araku that is going to be split into two districts as the Chief Minister reportedly wants a higher focus on the backward tribal areas.

“District Police Officer and all the other Government Departments including their camp offices will be in the same premises, thus doing away with the hassle of people travelling miles together for their work in different Government offices,” the government said in a statement.

The draft for the notification was released in January, following which it said it received over 17,000 suggestions.

The state has 25 Lok Sabha seats. One district was additionally created carving out the tribal areas in East Godavari and Visakhapatnam.

Related Articles

Back to top button